DO NOT wake up at 5am.

If you don’t have a plan and you didn’t get to bed early.

Nic Haralambous
4 min readJan 10, 2020
Photo by Pim Chu on Unsplash

For more thought-punches to your brain, sign up for my newsletter!

Waking up at 5am is not a magic method of becoming productive.

Waking up at 5am is absolutely a way for busybodies to make you feel shit about the time you woke.

Waking up at 5am can promote a burnout culture that pushes people over the edge due to an unhealthy routine and aimless wondering in the dark early in the morning.

Waking up at 5am is not for everyone.

But shit damn do I love waking up at 5am.

Nowadays I actually wake up before my alarm goes off. This is not a humble brag (although it does sound like one), this is a truth. I am so excited to start my day that I ping myself awake and get right to it. But I wake up with a plan every day. I wake up with a goal and various things that I want to achieve that day.

Waking up at 5am without a victory condition is like playing Monopoly but removing the money

To be able to wake up that early every day has taken me a long time to get right. I’ve had to change my diet, change my nighttime…

--

--

Nic Haralambous

Entrepreneur Coach → 20+ yrs as an entrepreneur → 3x Startup Exits